• Details
  • Photos


Kanyakumari is the southernmost tip of the Indian mainland located in the confluence of three major water bodies Bay of Bengal, Arabian Sea and Indian Ocean. Kanyakumari was under the rule of the Pandyan Kings till the downfall of Pandyas, and later by kings of Travancore under the overall suzerainty of the British (as "Cape Comorin") until 1947, when India became independent. Travancore joined the independent Indian Union in 1947. The reign of the Travancore royals came to an end. In 1949, Kanyakumari became part of the reconstituted Travancore-Cochin State. Around this time, a popular agitation by the Tamil-speaking people of the district for the amalgamation of Kanyakumari District with Tamil Nadu intensified.  Kanyakumari was joined as a separate district in with Tamil Nadu state in 1956.